Reviews

What people are saying about Fortescue Arms




last weekend - Rating 4/5

comfy rooms and a warm welcome ,lovely food in the evening ...beer good too ! would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. alanwright | Mon 25th Apr 2016


a long weekend - Rating 4/5

Second time stayed at the Fortescue Arms, staff are very accommodating, food excellentand rooms very comfortable and clean,will definitely book again if in the area..

Reviewer:Mr. dennisstock | Tue 15th Dec 2015


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

This was our second stay at the Fortescue the location is perfect and you always get a friendly welcome, the rooms are comfortable breakfest is excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. MALCOLM WRIGLEY | Wed 25th Nov 2015


Dave Faulkner - Rating 5/5

I stayed with you last month for the first time, it was very good value for the money and the dog friendly welcome was very refreshing for dog owners. Good food and clean room. So when my daughter was going to my aunts for the weekend, I told her that the Fotesue Arms was well worth a visit. After her stopping there on Friday she was very inpressed. Therefore we will both be staying there again. Thank you and keep doing what you are doing

Reviewer:Miss. Amie Faulkner | Sun 8th Nov 2015


Ideal base for visiting the area. - Rating 4/5

Very friendly landlord and staff. Nice clean room. Very comfy bed. Excellent food and lots of choice. As its a dog friendly establishment we feel it would be a good idea to make the dog owners clear up behind their dogs as twice we walked in dog poo as it was on the grass outside the front door. Aside from that we would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel White | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Excellent and economical - Rating 5/5

Spent two excellent nights here last week. Had previously eaten the excellent roast dinners at the Fortescue, and made sense to stay there when visiting relatives staying close by. Room spacious and clean, slept well. Very friendly staff, couldn\'t ask more.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Dunning | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money. Nice room with everything we needed, lovely shower. The carvery and breakfast buffet are excellent. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Ward | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Our stay 21st and 22nd August - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay. Room small but very compact with plenty of storage space. Spotlessly clean. Buffet Breakfast very good.Good bar with fair pricesI would recommend it without hesitation.

Reviewer:Mr. David Bates | Mon 24th Aug 2015


would go again - Rating 5/5

very friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. They were fab with our dog too who kept getting treats off the owner.I\'m looking forward to going back

Reviewer:Mr. DuaneMeadowcroft | Mon 24th Aug 2015


we will be back. - Rating 4/5

This weekend break was the 3rd time we have stayed at the fortesque arms, the whole place is clean &so welcoming.You also get a buffet breakfast which is brillant, I would challenge you to find anywhere that is better value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Bannister | Sat 22nd Aug 2015


farther and son break - Rating 4/5

pleasantly surprised with the Fortescue Arms friendly, welcoming, and good selection of ales, good food and the staff are very accommodating, will definitely book this place again

Reviewer:Mr. Dennis Stock | Mon 17th Aug 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

What a wonderfulfamilytheywent out of their way to helpwonderful PIMMS!!!!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Logan | Thu 13th Aug 2015


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Had a short stay at the Fortesque for a surfing trip as the location was ideal for Saunton, Putsborough and Woolacombe.Pub was comfortable and welcoming with great food and a really good selection of beers.Spent each evening relaxing in the beer garden or in the bar using the wifi and didn\'t feel the need to go anywhere else.They even froze my coolboc ice packs for me each day.Great breakfast set me up for each day of surfing.Great stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam Malin | Mon 10th Aug 2015


Stay - Rating 4/5

Mini break .made welcome.good food pleasant room .good staff ,great service

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Clarke | Sat 8th Aug 2015


Faultless- Rating 5/5

Have stayed twice &will definately be staying againRooms very comfortable, staff friendly &food is excellent.

Reviewer:Claire Guest 3 X Singles | Fri 7th Aug 2015


Booked for parents - Rating 5/5

They loved it all, dad chatting about trains with the landlord, they told me food was wonderful.

Reviewer:Ms. Joanne Torrance | Sun 2nd Aug 2015


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Lovely to spend a couple of nights at the Fortescue.Clean rooms,great service,lovely food and lovely folk.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeremy Edwin | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Very pleasant stay.- Rating 5/5

Basic, no frills accommodation that was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Staff worked very hard and went to great lengths to deal with my wife\'s wheat and dairy allergies. Will definitely try and visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Roberts | Fri 12th Jun 2015


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat